Posts

Showing posts from July, 2014

Review: Otherworld

Image
Otherworld by Jared C. Wilson My rating: 5 of 5 stars If you are a fan of religious thriller fiction in the vein of Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker, then you definitely need to give this book a read. The book takes the idea of aliens/UFO sightings/ETC and weaves it into a quite believable tale about what really is behind it all. My only (incredibly small) complaint was that sometimes the jumping around to different perspectives among the characters was a bit hard to get used to at first, but it ended up making perfect sense once I had gotten a bit into the book. Actually, it helped the story come together as it progressed, if that makes sense. So if you find it difficult, stick with it! The book is worth it, I promise! View all my reviews

Review: UnEnchanted

Image
UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn My rating: 2 of 5 stars I downloaded this book for free from Barnes & Noble because it seemed to have a unique premise. The reviews I read were generally favorable too, so I thought it might be worth a shot. The premise is indeed very unique, but the book is bogged down by SO. MUCH. CLICHE. that it's almost maddening. It's repeated time and time (and time) again that the main character, Mina, is 'not like other girls'. I understand the urge to make your character unique and relatable to the myriad of "perfect" book characters, but there comes a point when it's just overkill. It hindered the story, for me, because it was just so over the top at times. A prime example was the fact that Mina, a modern-day 16 year old attending what seemed to be a normal enough high school, had no idea what Twitter was. Um, what? The pacing of the book seemed inconsistent. Scenes that did not feel pertinent

Goodreads and Mini Book Reviews

A friend of mine mentioned Goodreads to me last month, saying that I might enjoy it. So I decided to give it a whirl, and boy am I glad I did! It's very much like Facebook in a lot of ways, but it's all centered around books/reading. And it's awesome. You can log books that you have read, rate them, read and write reviews, keep track of books you'd like to read, interact with others and a whole host of other things. The website is incredibly easy to use, and so is the Android app (it even has a barcode scanner for easy book lookup!). All in all, I've loved it. If you're a dedicated bibliophile like me, it's definitely worth checking out. :)  I mentioned that one of the options provided is the ability to write reviews on books you've read, but I recently discovered that there is even an auto-publish option so that your reviews are then posted on your blog. (Can you see where this is going?) I've linked my blog to my Goodreads account, so fr